Why I became a developer

A humble origin story

ยท

2 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

This is my #week1 submission for #4articles4weeks

I have always been fascinated by computers. Ever since I was a little kid I said I wanted to teach, work with computers, or become a CEO. But for most of my youth, computers were more of a hobby. I'd chat with friends and put lyrics in my away message. I enjoyed making my own websites and changing up my AOL and MySpace profiles. (reminder: this was the early 2000s)

hello-fellow-kids.gif

When I went to college, my major was general education. As I made it into year two of my degree, I realized I wanted to specialize and decided to go for mathematics. I switched my major and enrolled in the prerequisites for that track. One of these was Intro to Computer Science.

Aside from my dabbling with HTML, CSS, and JS, and a half-a-semester class in High School that used Java, I hadn't done much programming up to this point. But that first day in class, the day I was introduced to C++, my life changed.

take-off-sunglasses.gif

When the professor gave that first lecture I fell in love. It was so fascinating to learn about how code worked and all I could think was "I could do this for a living?!" That same day I walked over to the registrar's office, changed my major (again) to Computer Science and never looked back.

And that is the (uneventful) story of how I became a software developer. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Amanda Giannelli by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!